Poor nutrition and obesity is a problem in many developed countries and some people believe that a tax on fast food would reduce the problem. Do you agree?

In many wealthy nations, unhealthy diet habits and increasing rates of overweight are becoming a major problem. Many people hold the belief that imposing a tax on fast food could help tackle the issue. Eating processed food is often driven by struggles with finances, individuals preferences and social influence. That is why I am of the view that there are better approaches to solve this problem.

First and foremost, junk food is the cheapest and most convenient option, especially for people who struggle financially. Instead of taxing fast food, governments should invest in human beings and provide them with financial aid. For example, there should be measures to make the wealthy contribute to helping the less fortunate. As a consequence, this would reduce economic inequality and empower low-income families to make healthier lifestyle choices. Moreover, many people lack the time to cook something nutritious after a long and exhausting day, so they prefer to grab fast food.

In addition, social influence plays a crucial role in a sphere of diet , because humans can be influenced to eat ready food only by just watching people around them. Nowadays, even elderly ones want to try it because of its scrumptious taste which is created by chemical fertilisers. Consumers are often unaware of what is added to such products – to take one instance, large amounts of sugar which can lead to gain weight and high blood sugar levels.

To sum up, while some may believe in taxing fast food, I strongly agree that supporting vulnerable individuals is a more effective method of reducing junk food consumption.