Poor nutrition and obesity is a problem in many developed countries and some people believe that a tax on fast food would reduce the problem. Do you agree?

It is widely believed that poor eating choices and weight problems are issues occurring in many countries around the world, and that considering to make people pay more for fast food will prevent this. I partly agree with this, as the choice of purchasing junk food depends on the current situation of the person.

The main reason for buying junk food is that it may have been a habit to order it. Another reason includes a poorly organized work-life balance. It means that, for example, after a long day of work, people prefer to buy fast food rather than cooking themselves. The food itself may also contain high processed ingredients that encourage people to buy more junk food. This kind of lifestyle usually leads to serious illnesses like diabetes and obesity.

The solution the people are bringing is to add tax on fast food. This essentially means that people would have to pay more than the food’s cost. This solution is a great idea to prevent overnutrition. By making people pay more, they would then start to compare the fast food prices with restaurant prices, which may be lower. After that, people may start going to restaurants to eat healthy food instead. But this policy may backfire as if people have more money, or are really lazy, they may be forced to still buy fast food.

In summary, it’s essential to impose a tax on food to encourage people to buy more healthy food instead of buying junk food. But this tax can be ignored if people really don’t want to cook food, or they don’t have the choice to do so.