Poor nutrition and obesity is a problem in many developed countries and some people believe that a tax on fast food would reduce the problem. Do you agree?

In recent years, the prevalence of ailments related to unhealthy diet and obesity, such as diabetes and cardiac diseases, has significantly increased in affluent nations. One suggested measure to tackle the problem could be imposing a tax on fast food. I believe that this approach can effectively reduce the consumption of such harmful meals and provide finances for raising awareness among people about healthy lifestyle.

Fast food can be considered as a poor nutrition, containing a lot of fat and salt; it’s overconsumption can result in overweight. Levying tax on this popular food, therefore, would be a pragmatic strategy as an inhibition for providing it. It seems that the tendency for eating fast food can remarkably decrease when it become more costly for people. This may also provoke people to find more affordable and healthy substitutions such as fresh vegtables and lean meats. Such a policy has been implemented for sugary beverages in the UK and Germany with great successful outcomes, reducing the popularity of drinking them.

The revenue of the collected tax could also be recognized as a sustainable financial resource for expanding the information of people about healthy eating habits. Acknowledging individuals can be achieveable by establishing healthy-diet campaigns and free community-based courses, which are based on the revenue. This preventative strategy can lead to, particularly in long-term, reducing the incidence of obesity and other metabolic diseases among people and the burnout on the healthcare systems.

In conclusion, I contend that imposition tax on fast food could be a pragmatic approach to discouraging people to consume it. The collected finances, additionally, can be invested in fostering the awareness of people about having a balanced diet, which can lead to promoting well-being for all community members.