Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is an ongoing debate regarding how widely recognised competitions like the football universal trophy and other global gaming activities are necessary for reducing intercontinental disputes and promoting patriotism in a harmless manner. I strongly agree with this notion because it brings about unity and increases people’s love and support for their distinct countries.

To begin with, one major reason why these well known recreational events are necessary for reducing strife globally, is that they encourage oneness and bring about harmony. Most often than not, athletes, coaches, commentators, spectators, media and medical personnels from around the globe gather together in a chosen stadium, field or pitch to partake or watch these contests, regardless of their cultures, traditions or beliefs. The winners are thereafter celebrated by all and sundry without any form of discrimination or hate for one another. For instance, the swimming contest held in the last Olympics saw the attendance and participation of representatives from twenty different nations with most of them brandishing their own flags.

Furthermore, although the crowd’s support for their individual regions can cause a temporary divide between them, it also promotes affection and devotion to their various countries as they will more that anything else at that moment, want the players from their own federation to win. This is due to the fact that these trophies are seen as highly prestigious for the players and the citizens of that part of the universe. For example, in the recent track and field events organised in Toronto, Zimbabweans both home and abroad wanted only players from their territory to emerge as winners and made banners to that effect.

To sum up, it is argued that social functions that are easily recognised like the football global cup and other sport events organised worldwide are highly needed for the easement of universal controversies and encourages positive feelings for one’s place of origin. I completely approve of the above idea, reason being that it brings about togetherness and loyalty to one’s own nation.