Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic: News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported? You should write at least 250 words. Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

News editors determine what to release in every medium such as television or newspapers all over the world. Many factors can be considered when selecting news for broadcasting for a range of reasons, and I would argue that reporting good news is better than broadcasting bad news.

Many agents influence the decision on which news is selected to broadcast on TV, radio, newspapers, etc. Firstly, the total politics of an organization and governmental authorities have a lot of effects on selecting the news because the content of the news reported on television or in newspapers has a lot of influence on public opinion. Secondly, another factor that influences the selection of news is about reliance. Reporting honest data can lead to the reality that in the future no people rely on the media that provides the news.

Reporting good and correct news is better for people who live in society. Broadcasting the news from reliable media may create a lot of awareness among people who live in a society so, despite correct knowledge about anything, people have the chance to make the best decision in problems that happen in their lives. It is my opinion that we are under a lot of bad news every day. In addition to the current global conditions like war, poverty, etc nobody can claim that the reported news on television, radio, newspapers etc is correct.

In conclusion, which news is selected to report depends on the authority’s decisions and news editors, and I believe that reporting the correct news has a lot of impact on public opinion.