Prevention is better than cure.Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to Spending on health education and preventative measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Some people think that the major part of a country’s health budget should be provided for the health education and preventive measures instead of the health treatment facilities In my opinion the expenditure to be provided to both these services should be decided with an analytical and a balanced approach.

As far as the preventative and health education services are concerned, they are essential part of any nation’s health care facilities. For example the Covid Pandemic which we faced in the past few years have really emphasized the need for the improvement in the status of preventive and health care facilities of any country. Inspite of the best health services already existing in many developed countries their health care systems crashed for they were unable to cope with the demanding situations of those times.

On the other hand, caring facilities also serve as the backbone of any nation’s health care system. Basic health care facilities are the right of any citizen as human life is precious. All the efforts to save life should be materialised by the governments. A recent survey in the US has shown that the people of nations with better health facilities had higher happiness quotient. So budget for health services such as chronic diseases, accidents should be considered for a certain part of any health budget.

In a nutshell, it can be said that the health expenses of any nation should be determined keeping in view it’s citizens need as well as the need for research for preventive measures. As health is wealth, so both of these aspects are important to maintain any population healthy and also save them from various health issues.