“Prevention is better than cure “. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree?

Finding a cure for an unknown disease can cost a lot of money, so some believe that it is better if the money is spent on prevention measures. In my opinion, spending all of the funds on precautionary methods can be problematic, and, therefore, researchers should also focus on finding a remedy.

Giving all the attention to prevention methods would not benefit society in the full extent. Some individuals may follow this regulation, but the majority of the population will take it lightly. For example, during the recent COVID outbreak, even though lockdown was initiated, still COVID cases were rising day by day. This shows how not all individuals follow the rules, even if the consequences can be life-threatening.

Another point to consider is that following all sorts of preventive methods can be a hassle in people’s daily lives. In other words, people of all ages, nowadays, are busy due to their workload, consequently, leading them to forget about all the regulations or make their life even more challenging than it is.

Finally, the best solution is to put the money into both, finding cures and disease prevention measures. This would ensure that, in the event that the methods prove ineffective, an antidote is developed in advance to treat the disease. As a result, society would benefit by getting a second chance at healing themselves for a better life ahead.

In conclusion, focusing on a preventive approach is not feasible, but splitting the funds can be a viable option for society to terminate the disease once and for all.