“Prevention is better than cure “. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree?

Some believe that ‘preventing diseases is better than treatment’. Conducting research and curing is highly expensive. Therefore, it would be better to fund proflactive measures. I agree with this statement and in this essay I will discuss why treatment and research costs excessively before explaining why investing in preventive practices would be more beneficial.

The pharmacy sector and countries spend billions of dollars on researching and treating diseases as lab and human resources are one of the most expensive sources. Take heart diseases as an example, which can be widely prevented when appropriate measures are taken. Each year, millions of dollars are wasted because of poor diet related to heart diseases. Because health problems are one of the leading reasons of mortality in human medicine, extensive research is conducted in every country for surgical and medical management.

On the other hand, preventing health issues costs significantly less than fixing health problems. Incentives for exercise, high quality nutrition and diet could be more effective ways of reducing mortality and morbidity. For instance, supporting even just cycling, can reduce blood pressure and stress drastically, therefore the possibility of heart related problems is reduced in important levels. In research, people who cycle or exercise regularly have fewer health issues. On an individual basis, they have fewer medical and insurance expenses.

In conclusion, management and researching of diseases requires a large amount of money when compared with preventive measures. I believe preventive actions like exercise, high quality diet are superior to maintaining high life quality for individuals.