Prevention is better than cure. Do you agree or disagree that out of the country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health and education and preventive measures?

Expenses out of the allocated amount from a country’s economy must be spent higher on health education and preventive ways rather than treatment. My stance corresponds to the assertion which was made. This essay will elucidate my view point and later draw a logical conclusion.

One of the major problems faced, especially by the people of developing countries, is their unfamiliarity with various communicable and non-communicable diseases- in simpler words, unawareness. Educating individuals on various aspects of healthy lifestyle helps to solve the problem from root level. Furthermore, treating a disease is very costly so, spending on it would only help the individual patient, but if awareness is done it will be mass oriented being helpful for many. For instance, involving people in one-act plays, community level programs in schools would be interesting and informative at the same time.

In addition to that, there are various infections which can be avoided if enough knowledge is given. For example, if people were not known about how Coronavirus spreads then, there would have been no measures to stop its outbreak. Hence, future epidemic can be easily tacked with. Not only that, providing valuable information about the golden 1000 days period of pregnancy would also assist the young mothers with the prenatal care and various changes they grow through which assists in reduces the mortality rate too.

In conclusion, better health related education and information on the preventive measures must be made by the government for the maximum utilization of the budget than using it for treatment since, its cheaper and mass oriented. Prevention is actually better than care as the farsighted program better for the citizens of a country.