Prevention is better than cure. Do you agree or disagree that out of the country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health and education and preventive measures?

With the current relationship of drugs and technology, various terminals of health management are made available to the public to navigate diseases without the need for further treatment. In this case, some people believe that by allocating a larger portion of a country’s health budget in these innovations are more beneficial than focusing entirely on the cure. I personally believe that this is the best approach on the management of a country’s overall health.

First, it can provide a safer and healthier environment for the people since it can lead to the total eradication of a certain disease. One example is the non-existence of tuberculosis in Singapore which can be attributed to the strict implementation of no-spitting regulation in public places therefore reducing the spread of aerosol or droplet bourne infections.

Another point to consider is the positive impact to the members of the community, as a more cost effective solutions, such as vaccines, are catered among the population. In context, vaccines are cheaper as compared to drugs of specific spectrum. To illustrate this, during the pandemic vaccines for COVID-19 were freely administered among the populace therefore reducing the risk of getting infected as well the chances of being admitted which may cause unreasonable amount of hospital bills.

Furthermore, diseases that were dealt with during childhood are easier to manage during the period of recurrence. Hence, this can provide a sense of mental relief to a person during this time. In my personal experience, being infected with measles is only a matter of decreased immunity. It did not cause distress in my part with the exception of feeling unwell for the next couple of days.

In conclusion, a stronger support for education and disease prevention from the government is a more befitting alternative. Since it can provide a disease free environment, an economical means of treatment and also a positive mindset among the populace.