Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education.

The inexorable march of crimes makes us wonder if prison is a designated place for criminals. While this perception continues to remain in some individuals’ minds, some stated that it is more efficient to provide people with a strengthened education system. This essay will dissect multiple aspects of how prison and a better education impact people.

Proponents of prison argue that lawbreakers should be dealt with in a disciplined place such as prison. The purposes of prisons are to create a barricade between the people who committed crimes with the citizens and to allow prisoners to reflect on themselves. An extremely important point in rehabilitating. Additionally, prison offers free training and employability skills such as teamwork. This trains them to acclimate to the outside world once they are discharged. Prisoners usually are rooted to cause crimes by their unstable minds, prison offers free counselling as being locked up in an indecent environment could be frustrating.

However, an uncountable number of prisoners would re-offend after they were released. The prison’s system only plays a small role in this as the issue usually occurs due to the difficulty of reintegration into the outside and the discrimination from the society. Hence, some individuals argue that education might be a more effective solution in reducing crime rates. The motives for criminals’ activities are usually rooted in underlying factors ranging from poverty to lack of access to education. As education equips individuals with knowledge and morality, it is crucial to allow every citizen to have the right to Therefore, governments are encouraged to provide free education to people with impoverished backgrounds. This increases opportunities for every citizen to be employed with a decent paid job, which will decrease crime rates.

In conclusion, although educational provision is likely to reduce crime rates, strict punishment might still be a more suitable choice as criminals are not just people who lack access to education but also people with unstable well-being.