Prisons are the most effective way to punish people who break the law. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Confining the burglars, intruders and etc. is the only solution to punish them. This essay will completely disagree with this statement because loose the one’s freedom can cause numerous psychological consequences and some violations do not deserve such bitter punishment.

First of all, not the all violations worth the imprisonment. There are may be various circumstances in individual’s lives and reasons of breaking the law, and most of them do not even deserve any attention. In such cases, the detention will be unfair, while the other kind of bitter crime like murder is occurring. For example, adolescents can spit in an inappropriate place, but it does not mean that they have to be confined.

Additionally, the arrest renders many mental issues. A murder and cannibalism are not the only offense, so the other prisoners, who may sit unfairly or for childishness already lose their freedom and access to their loved ones. Trying to improve their behavior can exacerbate them psychologically and alter their worldview to the negative side. For example, in China activity of going to jail for money is common and often violence there break people and alleviate their willing to live.

In conclusion, the imprisonment is not a spectacular way to fix a human as it can damage the mindset and may not be appropriate for some violation.