Public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free for people who use it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the government should invest in public transportation, such as buses and trolleybuses so that citizens will be able to use it for free. Although free public transport can be beneficial for people since it helps people to save money, I believe that buses should be charged at a price as it helps the country’s economy to be stable.

On the one hand, free trolleybuses and buses save money for citizens. By way of explanation, free public transportation will be beneficial for individuals who are struggling make ends meet every month. Moreover, if public transport is funded by the government, complaints from people will be significantly decreased since they will be able to travel effortlessly. For instance, in developed countries, such as the USA and the UK, since school buses do not require money from citizens, the levels of rebellion and complaints from parents dropped. Hence, it helped people to save money for transportation and live in peace as well.

On the other hand, the economics of countries will be decreased. In other words, if the government invests in public transport, people will not pay for it. Hence, the economy will not be stable, and in order to increase it, the government may implement more taxes for citizens. For example, if individuals pay for public transportation, it can maintain the economy which is crucial to provide employees as well as people with salaries and income. Consequently, it means that if people want to get high salaries, they should pay for public transportation.

In conclusion, although public transport should be funded by the government, I believe that, so that economy is stable and the salaries of citizens are high, it is essential pay for buses.