Q. Education of young people is highly prioritized in many countries. However, educating adults who cannot write or read is even more important and governments should spend more money on this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are various ideas regarding the education of people. Although governments focus only on the education of young people, I think that the adults who are illiterate should also be involved in education and government must take some measures in this field.

The main reasons why the education of youngsters are so important for many countries is that the process of educating them is easier and fruitful. That is, they are fresh, motivated and have enough time for improving their knowledge and skills. Additionally, for the young it is easier to learn how to use the new-designed technologies without which we cannot imagine any process in our modern world. For instance, nowadays students have such great opportunities that after university lessons they are engaged with additional activities through which they gain new abilities.

Despite the obvious reasons why governments try to involve young people in the education process, I think there are enough reasons why the adults who cannot read or write should not stay beyond this process. Firstly, children get the initial education from their family, especially their parents. By this, I mean illiterate parents can’t inculcate good qualities or moral values in their children. For example, in interviews the young people who have special interest in reading books say that they have parents who read books together with them in their childhood.

In summary, although it is more productive to spend more money on education of young people for above mentioned reasons, I support the idea that the adults should also be supported by governments in terms of getting education.