Question: Some people believe that modern technology, such as the internet and smartphones, is making people more isolated, while others argue that it is bringing people closer together. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A part of the community trusts that contemporary inventions, such as the internet and mobile phones, are making individuals drift from one another, in contrast, another set of people believe it unites and brings persons together. As far as I am concerned, the hi-technologies have brought people together rather than diversifying them. To begin with, the most significant reason would be, uniting strangers across the nations via social media platforms, in addition, the internet enables people to connect to their relatives and friends, by chatting and video calling. On the other hand, the innovation has caused some cracks within families and friends and isolated young teens from getting along with new people.

The brainchild of the Internet has led to many other new inventions, like programming languages, the World Wide Web, and search engines, which enabled researchers to explore this domain. In the same way, the revolution in the smartphone industry has made impeccable advancement in that field which made way for the creation of multiple apps that support connecting people, applications like Facebook, Snapchat, and Instagram have helped people to ally with each other from different parts of the world, especially the discovery ground braking for teens who are willing to build contacts across the country. For example, a student who finishes high school and desires to study abroad for higher may contact the current students, in this way the strange people who never met once come together. Correspondingly, for individuals who stay overseas, the only way to connect with their family members will, be the Internet. The feature of video calling has made this hardship a little easier for those people who miss their loved ones. For instance, my father worked in Australia till I was 16 years old, I was able to see him in person hardly once a year, but with the help of the internet and smartphones, I was able to interact with him virtually.

However, cyberspace and smartphones have made some negative impacts on the well-being of people, they do not have a common time in the family where they spend time together, and the smartphone is the primary reason behind it. To illustrate, in the past individuals had fewer distractions, so after work hours the only way to spend their leisure time was to be with the family, but now lots of ways are there like video games, movies, and so on, which makes people isolated. In the same way, children are hindered from establishing relationships with new people, because of their exceeding screen time, therefore people are secluded.

In conclusion, the discovery of the Internet and mobile phones has led to many inventions in that domain and also established a platform to connect with new people and individuals residing abroad. However, there are some situations, where it makes people lonely. Anyhow, these inventions have greatly helped individuals to connect, therefore, these indeed helped individuals to connect rather than isolate.