Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Studies show that the trend of conducting meetings, discussions, or trainings digitally is rising rapidly in businesses. Although there are some disadvantages of this approach, but the advantages it provides far outweigh these demerits making it the preferred choice for corporates.

Looking at the advantages, the biggest one is that online correspondence can be conducted with people from all over the world thereby eliminating the need to travel for the sake of a meeting. Thereby allowing businesses to save on cost and allow for teams to leverage global resources locally easily.

Another advantage is that most online platforms provide additional facilities like recording the meeting, the ability to showcase presentations and workspaces along with various engagement options like chat, annotate etc, which a physical meeting would not be able to provide.

In contrast one of the disadvantages of online engagement is that people who are not technologically savvy will find it difficult to navigate through complex softwares in order to join and participate in meeting and might not be able to fruitfully participate. Furthermore, when the online format is used for training a large group of individuals it can very difficult for the instructor to gauge and engage the audiences learning abilities. But these hinderances are easily rectifiable with some additional tools and platform training.

In conclusion, While there are certain minor disadvantages of online meetings platforms but digital ways of interaction provides a business with cost effective and agile global teams which are crucial ingredients of success in the modern world.