Research shows that increasing numbers of people are now living in mega-cities: cities of more than 20 million inhabitants.

Nowadays, it is said that there is a growth in population in mega-cities, which cover over 20 million people. The main positive side of this situation is the development of some facilities, while the negative one is the detrimental effects on the environment.

The increase in population of mega-cities can have a positive influence on the way of civilization as unprecedented changes can carry out through the city, like constructing more residential areas, recreational facilities, and an extensive number of touristic places. For example, if the majority of people reside in urban areas, the demand for a wide range of facilities will soar, which can lead to the rise of medicine, restaurants and so on. Quality of life, such as education, medicine, and sports, can thrive since individuals are able to require more modernization. Thus, as the number of residents in cities increases, more changes will occur.

Turning to the negative side of the growth in population of mega-cities, this can pose some tragic consequences of environmental troubles like air pollution, water pollution, and negative effects on the ozone layer. Most of the time, humans are prone to throwing their rubbish into water, streets, and green spaces. After the surge in urban population rates, the prevalence of these environmental issues will increase more than in past decades. Because of the expansion in factory numbers and other facilities, the emissions that are produced by these buildings can cause people to feel bad, leading to detrimental health problems or pulmonary diseases. Therefore, the rise in the population of large cities can lead to a number of severe problems.

In summary, I believe that since the population is increasing incredibly these days in mega-cities, recent advances in many fields are being made. However, it can cause numerous negative consequences in terms of the condition of the environment and people’s health.