Research shows that increasing numbers of people are now living in mega-cities: cities of more than 20 million inhabitants.

These days, it is becoming increasingly common for people to live in mega-cities. I am of the opinion that this change might bring about two main problems in the long run.

One primary negative outcome of increasing number of citizens in mega cities is that this puts pressure on public services. That is to say, when the number of people increases in urban areas year by year, the demand for various basic needs rises correspondingly. For example, public transports, healthcare systems, and food supplies might face challenges to meet the increased demand from the ever-increasing number of residents. As a result, when these basic needs are not fulfilled, the living standards are bound to decline. Given that, the growth in the number of individuals living in cities can be seen as a negative trend.

Another negative impact could be the environmental challenges. In other words, if cities are overcrowded, this is likely to result in the increase in the use of public transports and private cars. This, in turn, could give rise to ecological problems, such as air and noise pollution. Consequently, health-related issues, such as asthma and stress among people could arise. If it were not for the increasing number of people, all these challenged could be easily avoided because of the controlled use of vehicles. Therefore, the mega cities with a large number of populations are seen in a negative light.

In conclusion, while the increase in the number of city residents result in a strain on public services, this could also bring about the environmental concerns.