Research shows that increasing numbers of people are now living in mega-cities: cities of more than 20 million inhabitants.

It’s undoubtedly a fact that scientists illustrate that the majority of people move to the countryside due to many factors, with some arguing it brings more harm than good. However, living in large cities can present some challenges, such as pollution and traffic jams.

On the one hand, there is a significant possibility that experiencing public migration to the central city brings detrimental impacts to the local people, such as pollution. At its simplest, an influx of a high number of vehicles releases chemical waste and gases into the air, which contaminate the atmosphere. Furthermore, these poisonous materials can have a detrimental impact on human health, specifically increasing the risk of heart attacks, wheezing, coughing, and breathing problems. Moreover, there could even be a greater susceptibility to irritation of the eyes, nose, and throat. Additionally, pollution does not just affect human life but also has environmental impacts, such as global warming, climate change, and acid rain. Studies indicate that around 71% of the population in Delhi suffers from severe pollution and respiratory problems.

On the other hand, traffic jams are also a subject of significant debate associated with the large number of inhabitants. In practical terms, an influx of vehicles on the streets causes congestion; travelers struggle to reach their offices and workplaces. Admittedly, commuters lose a significant amount of time because they are stuck in traffic, reducing the time available for leisure, family, and activities. Furthermore, this may lead to stress, depression, and anxiety when there is an extreme roadblock. In fact, Bangkok is the capital city of Thailand and has rapid urbanization.

To conclude, the growing population figures in downtown areas present potential challenges such as congestion and pollution that affect human life. The government should implement effective measures to reduce these issues.