Restoration of old buildings in major cities in the world involves a lot of government expenditures. This money should be spent in new housing and road development

Some people argue that governments should spend money on new houses and roads construction rather than allocating funding on renovating acient buildings in the cities. I believe whether the governments should invest in renovating historic buildings depends on their financial situation.

I agree that governments should allocate their expenditures in restoration for those developed countries as they have adequate fundings and their infrastructure has been well developed. Historical buildings often referred as cultural heritage, which is a symbolic and value of a nation. The restoration of these buildings can turn them into tourist sights, which will attract more travellers, contributing to local economy, including the income of the accommadation, dinning and admission fees from tourists. The retoration of ancient buildings in Venice and Italy are the good examples which maintain the charm of the cities as well as boost local economy.

However, I argue that those non-developed countries should spend money on historical sites renovation. Providing enough houses and building more roads are more important for those developing countries than restoration of old buildings. More houses provided by the governements are able to fulfill people’ basic need for survival so that people who struggled with housing could focus more on other aspects. Furthermore, building roads is a significant step to connect one nation to another so that people can do business and share informaion in order to grow their economy. For instance, Indian governenment invested numerous their expenditure on Taj Mahal so that it became one of the most famous tourist attraction in the world. However, many Indians still suffer in poverty and homelessness, showing a bad image to the world. In this case, governement should use the money in housing and roads before contributing to restoration.

In conclusion, I accept that governments should used their expenditure in restoration of ancient building when their financial situation allows, but for those developing countries, allocating funds wisely on infrastructure is more beneficial.