•Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a common belief that while the rising cost of university education and concerns about employment prospects are considered, some proponents argue that eliminating arts subjects like philosophy and history from university can reduce the problem . However, from my perspective, I wholeheartedly disagree with this statement due to some reasons which will be explained clearly in the essay.

On the one hand, a diverse range of majors enriches the educational experience. Having an experience exposes students to different fields of study to broaden their mind, in specific, not only creating more opportunities for students to choose but also having chances to develop their talent. Another essential point to make is that arts subjects, such as philosophy and history, play a crucial role in transmitting culture and preserving national identity. Additionally,it also contributes to a deeper understanding of society, culture and ancient values which are essential for the development of a country.

Furthermore, the qualification of output students is not guaranteed, in particular, the result of this issue is that it leads to the number of students who have no occupation after graduation increase significantly throughout a year. From a professional standpoint, if this phenomenon is not solved completely, reducing art majors are unable to tackle the problem effectively. Another consequence of this occurrence is that many students can not chase after their dream college in artistic or historical fields. As a result, this may prevent people from expressing their abilities as well as being unable to reduce the unemployment rate.

In conclusion,I believe that universities should continue to offer various majors for students. Not only can they purchase their dream, but also create more jobs that help diversify domestic employment and is a launching pad for the country to develop.