•Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, practical degree courses are highly prioritized due to its rising employment opportunities . However, I disagree on peoples opinions on not teaching art subjects in universities because students should be allowed to choose the subject they want to pursue without any pressure from the society or university.

Every individual has an aptitude about certain things in life. Some people may be keen towards art subjects like philosophy and history and some may prefer technological subjects. Discouraging students in subjects they are passionate about may lead them to make a decision without their interest in certain fields which results in bunch of people pursuing careers they are not fond of. For instance, according to numerous experiments it has been proved that people only utilize their time and effort in things they are interested about. Furthermore,Students pursuing art degrees tend to be active and creative thinkers being able to solve numerous problems and evaluate them. These skills are transferrable to many different careers such as law, politics or education. Therefore, it is argued that they help to increase employability.

Likewise, expertise in arts and history also help people to contribute to the society. This is because knowledge in history and art is major part of civilized society. For example, without analyzing the history we wouldn’t be able to correct our mistakes from the past. Although, medicine and science plays important role in the society, it is clear that arts make a valuable contribution.

In conclusion, Creative subjects like these allows people to express themselves through the art they create. It is illogical to suggest that arts shouldn’t be taught in the universities , as the decision making skills and cultural knowledge develop benefits for both graduates and society.