School children are becoming far too dependent on computers.This is having an alarming effect on reading and writing skills.Teachers need to avoid using computers in the classroom at all costs and go back to teaching basic study skills.Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s time, students are observed to be relying on computers too much. There are those that believe that this occurrence has detrimentally affected reading and writing skills. Additionally, people believe that lecturers should focus on enhancing fundamental skills in studying and strongly discourage the use of computers in the classroom. Nevertheless, I personally disagree with this narrative.

To begin with, computers are great aids in enhancing necessary study skills, such as reading. There is a wide variety of reading resources available online, which are highly accessible through technological devices like computers. For instance, e-books, journals, and articles about various fields of study can be found on the internet with just a few clicks on the computer. Consequently, this enhances reading comprehension, critical thinking, and expanding knowledge.

Apart from this, using computers can help improve significant writing skills. Nowadays, many advanced software is widely available that assesses spelling, grammar, vocabulary, and sentence structures. Subsequently, this allows students to identify their mistakes and correct them. This, in turn, sharpens their ability in formulating strong and coherent written works.

With the progressive development of technology, knowing how to use a computer prepares students for the future. This improves one’s digital literacy, ability to write emails and reports, and reading relevant resources. Therefore, handling computers should also be considered a basic study skill that is necessary to be taught in schools.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that computers have a positive effect on students’ skills in reading and writing. They not only act as mediums for pupils to refine and build their core abilities, but also promotes readiness in facing advances of technology in the succeeding years.