School uniforms should be banned, allowing students to freely wear their own clothes. To what extent do you agree?

Many people think that educational attire should be forbidden, students openly wear their favorite clothes without restriction. I somewhat disagree. I am going to present advantages, then disadvantages of uniforms.

On one hand, there are three advantages. First, uniforms create a sense of equality. This is a symbol of unity among students and a way to disregard discrimination as well. This is illustrated by the fact that when everyone – both rich and poor kids – wears the same quality clothes to school, no one feels superior or inferior. Another reason is that the school uniforms are very cheap and buying uniforms would be an additional expense that could be easy for poor people to fulfill. For example, my school uniforms cost about 50,000 VND because the school has funds for student uniforms. Second, the dress code not only encourages discipline but also improves student concentration. To illustrate this, school uniforms make getting ready for school easier, which can improve punctuality and attendance. Third, student attire represents the cultural values of the country. As a Vietnamese schoolgirl, I used to wear a traditional white Ao Dai when I was at school. In particular, I’m proud to wear Ao Dai because of the fact that it has become a symbol of the beauty of Vietnamese women and conveys purity.

On the other hand, there are three disadvantages. First, school uniforms can be uncomfortable. For instance, many schools use the same uniform all year round so sometimes the wearer will be too hot or too cold because of the weather. School uniforms are also designed with common standards, so there is no variety of sizes for plus-sized students to choose. Moreover, it may limit student self-expression. Students will always feel a loss of freedom and find a way of rebelling against the rules. That means wearing expensive jewelry, or styling their hair in a way that allows them to express their own personality. Then, it is difficult to detect bad intruders when they are wearing uniforms. An example of this is that an intruder would simply need to follow the uniform policy and then move freely on campus. For that reason, schools are often required to enhance protection and security.

In conclusion, because of advantages and disadvantages, I somewhat disagree with the stance that school uniforms should be banned.