Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by private companies rather than governments. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there is a common belief that scientific research should be carried out and managed by private companies on behalf of the governments. To my way of thinking, I think that the advantages eclipse the disadvantages that it brings. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and support my point of view.

On the one hand, scientific research conducted by non-government entities benefits the community in many ways. First of all, products will have higher qualities and better prices. The reason for this enhancement is related to the innovations that the companies made. By conducting more and more research and experiments, they (the companies) will find out the way to upgrade their production and quality of the products. This increases the efficiency of the production line so that they can easily satisfy the rising demand of the market. The more products they make, the more profit they make. Another reason is that entities can respond rapidly to the demands of the customers. Companies can quickly shift their research and focus on fitting the requirements of the consumers. Sometimes they can discover practical applications that benefit the society.

Turning to the other side of the argument, this trend brings some negative effects that we have to take into notice. Some private companies tend to neglect essential but not profitable projects to prioritize those that can bring immediate financial gain. In addition, social or environmental research might not help to earn much yield although being extremely necessary. On the counter side, government-involving research is specifically considered public property and therefore is accessible to a wide range of people.

In conclusion, I think that the benefits that scientific research carried out and managed by non-government companies outweigh its counter-effects. Moreover, I think it is a positive movement for humankind for a higher life standard.