Scientists agree that many people eat too much junk food and it is damaging their health. Some people think that this problem can be solved by educating people, while others believe that education will not work. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Although excessive consumption of junk food has been proved to be detrimental to people’s health, opinions are divided on how to deal with this issue. While many believe that educating people is not the best solution, I contend otherwise, as this approach encourages people to actively adopt healthier lifestyles, which can have a long-term impact.

Skeptics of the effectiveness of education argue that people consume junk food for various reasons. For instance, many buy fast food because it is convenient and allows them to replenish energy on the go, while others may choose it over because of its flavors, which is especially true for young children. Thinking that they only eat junk food on rare occasions, it is understandable why many consumers do not worry about the impact of excessive consumption. However, this attitude may change when their frequency of eating such unhealthy food is shown to be more than just a few times, or their physical changes have become plain to see.

On the other hand, I believe education is vital to changing people’s habit of consuming junk food. The first benefit is that it raises people’s awareness of the potential deleterious effects such food has on their health, such as making them gain weight rapidly or increasing risks of getting diabetes and cardiovascular problems. Recognizing early signs of these consequences would make people more willing to reduce their consumption. The impact can also be enhanced if people are taught how to prepare easy quick meals, or simply buy healthier snacks in place of unhealthy junk food. Ultimately, the point of education is not to forcefully remove all junk food, but to encourage people to exercise their freedom of choice and make better decisions, which I believe will appeal to the general public.

In conclusion, I agree that education is important to changing people’s consumption of junk food. The impact may be subtle at first, but changing people’s perception is crucial to a long-term reform.