Scientists agree that many people eat too much junk food and it is damaging their health. Some people think that this problem can be solved by educating people, while others believe that education will not work. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While the scientific consensus is that excessive consumption of junk food has had a deleterious impact on people’s health, opinions are divided on whether education would be an effective solution. I agree that this is necessary for a long-term reform, but the process can also be facilitated with the adoption of other measures as well.

Skeptics of the educational approach argues that people have many excuses to consume junk food. For instance, many opt to buy it because of its availability and affordability, while others, especially children, enjoy its flavors and textures. They also think that their consumption is not frequent enough for their health to decline as a result, meaning that the negative impacts of junk food that they learn are unlikely to make a difference. Instead of education, perhaps stricter policies such as limiting junk food outlets and raising taxes would be more effective, as they discourage the act of distributing the food.

Although acknowledging the aforementioned alternatives, I contend that education is essential to changes in the long run. The most significant benefit of this approach is that it raises people’s awareness of visible health issues caused by junk food and encourages them to re-evaluate their consumption frequency. This is necessary for them to make voluntary decisions, reducing their consumption of the food for their own well-being rather than being forced to do so. In place of junk food, they can also be informed of other ways to prepare quick meals, or encouraged to buy healthier snacks instead, further steering them away from unhealthy food choices while still appealing to their sense of freedom.

On balance, I agree that education is necessary for people to actively reduce their consumption of junk food in the long term. However, this policy is unlikely to have an immediate impact, which is why other measures should also be implemented.