Scientists believe that computers will become more intelligent than humans. Some say it is a positive development while others say it is a negative development. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, the pervasive influence of computers on people’s daily lives has become evident. It is believed by many scientists that those machines will surpass human in terms of intellectual ability, which has precipitated significant public concern of whether this is a positive phenomenon or a negative one. In this essay, I will expound on arguments to elucidate the topic under discussion before my eventual verdict is drawn.

On the one hand, it is essential to acknowledge that there are a number of setbacks stemming from advanced computers. First and foremost, those machinery probably pose a substantial threat to workers. As stated earlier, computers’ intelligence are unquestionably far more superior to human employees. This is primarily because they are capable of processing an enormous amount of information as well as conducting perplexing calculations within a minuscule time, which is simply out of human reach. This has led to a situation where unemployment’s rate witnessed a dramatic surge as in many professions people will completely be replaced by computers, which exert a significant fiscal burden on the economy. Secondly, numerous scientists and researchers concern that in the future, computers not only become more and more intelligent than human being, they may actually form their own consciousness. If this scenario occurred, there would be conflicts between human and robots which may cause wars globally. This, in turns, would contribute to severe catastrophe to humanity, and potentially push us to the edge of extinction.

On the other side of the spectrum, despite the aforementioned drawbacks, it is my firm belief that cutting-edge computers carries several worth-mentioning benefits. Firstly, computers with their extreme intellectual capability, will assist people in aspects of life. For instance, advanced machines can help employees conducting researches, or help students fulfilling their problematic academic tasks. Therefore, thanks to computers, the productivity as well as the performance of people will be boosted significantly. Furthermore, intelligent computers may aid scientists come up with innovative inventions resolving contemporary issues such as climate change or pollution. As a result, this elevates the living standard of human throughout the world.

To sum up, I wholeheartedly believe that advanced machines accounted for both merits and demerits. A feasible approach should be implemented in order to mitigate the potential risks as well as underscores the benefits.