Scientists predict in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

According to scientists’ predictions, in the future, vehicles will be moved through computer technologies instead of by individuals. Although some look at the negative effects, this will definitely be beneficial. An important aspect is that it might improve discipline on roads and highways, as well as decrease unexpected road accidents. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss my rationale for the reasons behind my perspective.

My first positive development from computerized vehicles is that they will be more disciplined on roads and motorways. As a result, they would not need to be observed by a human. Naturally, not all drivers are as skilled as if they were able to maintain discipline on the road. Therefore, their driving is often poorly managed and has to be obediently controlled by responsible people, like in my city, where I am often stuck in a long-time traffic jam. Because vehicles are being driven by humans in our city, they are messing up our city roads. If those were computerized cars, this situation would not occur.

Nowadays, many people have to train on different types of vehicles, such as private cars or taxis, which are mini-sized cars, and buses or trucks, which are enormous-sized cars. Because they are able to drive only particular cars, they would definitely crash on the roads if they were driven in other types of vehicles. For example, my elder brother is an unprofessional driver. One day, he curiously tried to drive a truck, and then he had an accident. If that truck had been controlled by a computer, he would not have faced that accident.

In conclusion, if it has been said that computer-controlled vehicles are profitable, I want to convey that I fully support those aspects that I above-mentioned because they will decrease road accidents and ensure compliance with traffic rules.