Scientists predict in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is widely acknowledged that with the pace of artificial intelligence, computers are applied in many aspects of human lives, including driving cars. This phenomenon can be attributed to a host of reasons and I believe that it is a negative development because of its inherent potential.

There are two main contributors leading scientists to believe that robots will replace humans driving cars in the coming years. Chief among these is that the technology industries have been readily developing recently. This is predicated on the assumption that a lot of autonomous systems have been produced, such as autopilot mode in planes, non-driver taxis and cleaning robots. Therefore, scientists observe that computers are completely capable of controlling cars. , when computers are allowed to control transportation, especially cars, it will bring comfort and convenience to people. This is due to the fact that they can relax or take a nap after a long day of working hard instead of facing traffic congestion when they drive cars themselves.

Despite the advantages mentioned above, the drawbacks of allowing computers to drive cars which lead to a negative development, are more significant. The key reason is that it directly causes unemployment to a lot of drivers, who account for around one-third of the proportion of workers in a country. This change might result in economic decreases because when a large number of unemployed workers appear, they cannot generate the revenue to pay taxes to the government. Furthermore, it is important to note that people become lazier and more irresponsible if they let robots drive cars for them. This is because they rely on technology too much, even for many basic activities that are actually unnecessary with the help of robots, since then, it might lead to a slothful generation.

To sum up, the development of automatic systems and its benefits to people let scientists predict that it will alter the position of car drivers. However, I believe that these negatives including causing unemployment and lazy individuals will result in negative development.