Scientists think that the problem of ageing population is growing in many developed countries, while the percentage of younger population in developing countries is on the increase. What are the reasons of these demographic trends in developed and developing countries?

It is believed that the issue of an ageing population is becoming more significant in numerous advanced countries, whereas the proportion of young individuals is ascending in emerging nations. These major issues related to demographic trends are caused by several reasons. People in developed countries prefer to have fewer children. Meanwhile, citizens of underdeveloped countries have higher birth rate and shorter life expectancy.

On the one hand, families in developed counries tend to have less children as it hinders career growth which leads to ageing of population. Parents in developed countries prefer career growth and earning money to be prepared for the birth and providing for the child due to the high standards of living and rising costs for child rearing. This usually leads to families either not having children at all, believing that they are not yet prepared, or to families having few children.

On the other hand, proportion of young people is traditionally higher in underdeveloped countries owing to higher birth rates and shorter life expectancy compared to developed countries, which results in youthful demographic structure. This is largely due to the lower levels of education, and cultural factors that prioritise large families and poor level of medicine. As a result, the younger population makes up a significant proportion of the overall population.

In conclusion, one of the biggest reasons of ageing population is lower birth rate and the pursuit of a career.