Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

For last decade or so, people around the world have been getting accustomed to newer modes of leisure and shopping has certainly become one of them. Despite of this growing trend and interest towards shopping, there exists a faction which views it having a downside as well.

Owing to the rapid growth and higher rate of adoption of the idea of branding, the consumer markets, in specific, have witnessed a shift in pattern on how the products are being brought nearer and nearer to the consumers. Be it a product related to fashion; health and beauty, electronics or anything else that has a reasonably large user base, there is no escape from the different channels that are being used to lure consumers’ into buying those things. Marketing campaigns, especially through ads, these days, have emerged into a very powerful tool such that they can create very strong associations of their products with their target users. Due to this manufactured environment of consumerism, the tendency to shop and spend has gone quite high.

Although, the growing trend of shopping is somehow associated with the mechanics of technology aided marketing, there are upsides of spending time doing shopping, particularly outdoor shopping. The reason being that it provides people a stress-free time away from their daily life routines and gives them a sense of fulfilment, too. It could also be argued that it provides people of curios minds with an opportunity to explore different types and ranges of their favorite products and the material used to manufacture them. For example, the tech geeks seem to wait for winter discounts anxiously for the entire year not only for buying the new gadgets but also to get the chance to explore new releases and features in their devices of interest.

To conclude, it depends on the people to avoid getting caught up in the shopping spree around them while still using it for their leisure and recreation, in a controlled manner.