Should a city try to preserve its old, historical buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Some individuals hold the belief that the destruction of old buildings to replace them with modern ones is the best solution, whereas others think that preserving them is a better option. In my opinion, preserving ancient buildings is the best approach because they maintain historical importance for countries. However, I will discuss both views and give my conclusion below.

First of all, I want to begin with the fact that historical buildings are essential for both education and the tourism industry. Ancient buildings show the background of the country with their unique design, showcasing how people used to live and other interesting aspects of our history. This, in turn, provides a valuable way to present a country’s heritage, especially to younger audiences. Ancient buildings also contribute to tourism expansion in any country. Take the Egyptian pyramids, for example; they have led to an increasing interest in these countries among foreign visitors. Thus, when a greater number of tourists visit a country, it significantly boosts the national economy.

On the other hand, some of the geriatric structures are so old that they make certain parts of the country look unattractive. Some of these buildings are located within cities, making them appear older rather than modern, and limiting space for local people. As a result, the government may have no choice but to demolish them.

To summarize, I believe that historical buildings are important for most countries. However, they should only be destroyed in emergency situations.