Should a city try to preserve its old, historical buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Some people tend to construct more living buildings and shopping malls by replacing those famous and historic structures inner the cities or even countries. While more space can be available to provide citizens with a living, I think that it would bring detrimental impacts to cultural heritage and tourism.

First and foremost, these historical constructions contain cultural context and value, which are irreplaceable and unique. Moreover, preventing them can offer an opportunity for future generations to learn about the culture and history, benefiting the cultural heritage. Maintaining and visiting these buildings definitely gives respect and appreciation to the local culture and traditions. From my personal experience, although I live in a well-developed area in Hong Kong, most well-known and historical figures have been kept, or even repaired to maintain them as long as possible. Thus, despite some children are very young, they also know about these special buildings.

Furthermore, saving them can also create more economic benefits for tourism. Since numerous historical actually maintain many unique structures and beautiful colors that are difficult to see in modern buildings, such as Mont-Saint-Michel in France and various shrines in Japan, they can attract visitors who travel around the world to produce memories with their families, providing a large number of potential customers to tourism. For instance, Japan is a famous country for traveling in Asia, it has been receiving countless economic revenues from tourism and offers economic chances to local companies or even small businesses.

In conclusion, it is true that every country requires more space to build accommodation and infrastructure, for solving the problem of living since the population has been growing consistently. However, I believe that old and historical buildings not only represent different cultures in distinct countries but also provide money or even resolve the economic difficulties in countries.