Should a city try to preserve its old, historical buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Old buildings are connection between the ancient world and modern world. They are symbol of our history. However, some people claim that they should be replaced by the new buildings as modernize the city. Here I disagree with them up to great extent and will discuss my opinion in the upcoming paragraphs with plausible vindications.

To commence with, why preserving old buildings are important. Predominantly, they not only tells about the history of a nation but also represent their culture and its identity. One can tell from an ancient building that what kind of things happened there, how people used to live there. By learning these kind of things, they can feel proud of their ancestors and can learn something from their hard work and sacrifices they did for them. For instance, in Jalaya wala bhag Amritsar a very ancient and popular place in Punjab, India, where people visit and see the bullet holes in the walls that represent the freedom history of Indians that can still bring tears in visitors’ eyes by remembering the kind of sacrifice their ancestors did.

Furthermore, old buildings also boost the local economy as more people visit and see these buildings more they invest in buying souvenirs to remembrance, use hotels to stay, utilize local transport to travel and eat in local restaurant. These ultimately result in using local resources and helping local people and earning their bread and butter for their family. Thus, they should not be replaced by new architecture buildings.

However, opponents claim that maintenance of old building is high, lots of government funds are just going in preserving these buildings instead those can be invested in students education and in development of nation. Their investment is rather high than their revenue.

To conclude it all, old buildings are important as they tell us the history and culture of a nations and helps local people by becoming a symbol of tourist attraction. As they are foundation of modern world.