Should education and healthcare be free of charge and funded by the government, or should it be the responsibility of the people to pay for these services?

In our increasingly global world, great attention is being paid to whether education and health services should be afforded by the government or the consumers. In my opinion, both views are partly correct due to diverse reasons.

One main reason why education and health care should be free is due to poverty or lack of resources. Due to the high costs of private services for either health or education, some families are not able to afford it. For instance, for some parents paying private schools for their children is not possible even though they have dual-income. Therefore, their children need to access to free education in order to improve their academic path. Moreover, if government ensure learning and well-being for everybody, the society level is improved and so its development.

However, money and resources are limited and need to be wisely invested by the government in order to please all the habitants. Certainly, some individuals take advantage from receiving education and health care for free and end up being a waste for the government resources. This is the case for people with great wealth who can afford this kind of services and prefer not to by taking the place of someone who truly need it. Furthermore, in case of studying, some youths do not even finish their studies after years of money invested on their future.

In conclusion, taking into account all the reasons mentioned, I believe that everyone should not only have the possibility of learning but also access to health care centers to be treated without any cost. However, the government need to implement a strict control of who is getting access to these benefits and prioritize the ones that have less.