Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community?

A certain group of people opine that long-service employees receiving government perks ought to engage in voluntary or social service work in order to return to the society. This notion touches on the societal and welfare responsibilities of the community.

First and foremost, people working with governing authorities often receive ample benefits like subsidised electricity, gas and phone bills, on top of their regular wage, which ensures job satisfaction and a higher level of output. The expectation that the employees should participate in mandatory social work would motivate society as a whole and would set an example for the younger generations. For instance, in Korea all citizens must serve in the army in their lifetime. Such initiatives boost the national sentiment and aid in overall development of individuals.

Moreover, job seekers often get complacent working in similar work conditions and job role for long durations. Especially with the work from home and hybrid culture, most people often become lethargic or are mentally stressed, therefore, engaging in society welfare activities would raise the employee morale, overall uplifting the positive working culture of the organisations.

Adversely, others contend that forceful voluntary work should not be forceful and ought to be based on personal interest. Enforcing and making social work mandatory may result in resentment and lack of enthusiasm in the population, dissolving the overall purpose of volunteering initiatives.

To conclude, I cannot but agree that engaging workers in society welfare activities has multifaceted benefits, however, the downsides of forced volunteering work also need to be accounted. Therefore, a balance between both the approaches, like incentivising social work, can assist in ensuring that both the individual and the community mutually benefit from this collaborative approach.