Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Government benefits to long-term job seekers was an initiative taken to ensure the well-being of the unemployed citizens in the country. Although this measure is taken by the government to solely ensure they survive without a job and are motivated till they find one, the benefits are more or less provided by the employed population, collected in the form of income taxes. Therefore, as a sign of gratitude it is ideal that these long-term job seekers do voluntary work in order to give back to the community.

One main reason as to why these job seekers must do voluntary work is that, otherwise they might tend to take these benefits for granted. For instance, an unemployed individual might purposefully not find a job just to enjoy such benefits facilitated by the government, which can lead to reducing earnings contributed to the country and lower the overall economic growth.

Secondly, voluntary works can act as a way of preventing from keeping the country’s resources idle. With voluntary works like cleaning the parks, clearing out the beach and sweeping the roads can allow the unemployed workers to gain some exercise as well as the satisfaction of giving back to their own community. Recent research by Forbes depicts that voluntary work by long-term job seekers have resulted in various benefits to the individuals in terms of self-development as well as the community.

In conclusion, according to the above discussed points, it is preferable to encourage the long-term job seekers to do voluntary work as a way of demonstrating their gratitude to the community that has been helping them.