Since the beginning of the 20th century, the number of endangered species has increased significantly and we have witnessed more mass extinctions in this period than in any other period of time. State some reasons for this and provide possible solutions.

Over the last 100 years, a significant amount of wild animals have been listed as endangered, and the animal extinction have become more prevalent than ever. This is because of the economic activities carried by humans that have driven wild animals out of their natural habitants. Through stricter government rules and legislation, businesses are better regulated. Hence, animals could be protected from extinction.

Human economic activities, including mining and logging, have contributed to the destruction of animals’ habitant in the nature. This is because such activities conduct large-scale clearing of forests, in order to extract metals which are essential for different electronic products such as computers and mobile phones. As wild animals’ are forced to leave their homeland, they have less shelters and access to food, which can in turn endanger their survival. An example is the Tasmanian tiger, a big cat native to Australia, which was last 80 years ago, and it was unfortunately pronounced extinct due to loss of natural habitant and deforestation.

Stricter laws on mining and logging can save endangered animals from extinction by regulating corporates on their economic activities. Workers need to follow certain stricter mining and logging standard in order to minimize deforestation. and to compensate the destruction brought by the business activities. This can be seen in Malaysia, where it is necessary for palm oils production companies to replant the same number of trees for every tree that is cut down, or else it will face a heavy penalty.

To conclude, there are more critically endangered animals due to economic activities that led to deforestation. In order to conserve our wild species, stricter regulations needed to be implemented on businesses in order to ensure the substainability of mining and logging.