Smoking should be banned in public areas. Do you agree or disagree?

Whether smoking in public places like restaurants and cafes should be totally prohibited or not, has become a fervent debate. I strongly agree with the notion of banning it in such places. This essay aims to explore the reasons behind my belief.

Firstly, the more a behaviour is seen in society, the more it is going to be followed by the younger generation. It’s the ultimate goal of every government to develop good habits to have a mentally and physically healthy nation. Like a smoking father who does not smoke in front of his kids to be a good role model for them, every government has to exhibit good patterns in public areas.

Secondly, smoking kills. Everybody knows it’s injurious to health and mind, but not everybody is able to control their habits, even though it is a harmful one. So, by forbidding it in public by establishing laws against it, this wrong behaviour will be diminished and also the non-smokers’ privacy will not be intruded and their health won’t be endangered, since it has been proved that smoking is as harmful to second-hand smokers as it is for the smokers themselves.

To conclude, this bad habit has to be controlled and limited by the ones in charge, because smoking is the main cause of a lot of diseases and deaths, and it is the primary goal of the governments to resist escalating bad habits and prepare a healthy environment for every individual.