Smoking should be banned in public areas. Do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, numerous governments have implemented regulations regarding smoking prohibition in public places, namely pubs, restaurants and offices. From my perspective, despite the skepticism related to personal freedom, this phenomenon is indisputably advantageous by virtue of its health and environmental benefits.

Firstly, one of the major advantages of this phenomenon is that it promotes public health. Specifically, as proven by countless researchers, the components of tobacco smoke, such as nicotine and carbon monoxide, fuel the emergence of various diseases that are critically lethal to consumers and passive inhalers’ health. Given that smoking is strictly forbidden, not only can the inhalation of non-smokers to hazardous smoke substances can be minimized, but also the consumption of smokers to some extent is also limited.

Furthermore, forbidding smoking in public areas can bring environmental merits. To put it more explicitly, as tobacco smoke also consists of nitrogen oxides and methane, these byproducts are released directly into the air after consumption. While nitrogen oxides are further oxidized and then hydrated to form acid rain, which is widely acknowledged to be severely detrimental to distinct ecosystems, methane, being closely attributable to greenhouse effect, exacerbates global warming.

Regarding the downsides, critics contend that these legislations may violate their personal rights and freedom. Nonetheless, I believe that the well-being of the wider society should be prioritized, and that they also have the rights to inhale clean air.

In conclusion, in spite of valid concerns regarding individual rights infringement, this ban is overall beneficial in light of its health and environmental advantages.