Social media has a negative impact on society. To what extent do you agree?

Social media is ubiquitous nowadays. It simultaneously brought happiness and distraught to millions all around the world, and the amount of people that are affected is growing by the day. Many believe that instagram, facebook and other social media resources have detrimentally impacted our society. At first glance, I tend to largely agree with this opinion. However, there are many benefits that derive from this phenomena as well, when you look at it more closely.

The largest drawback that social media has had throughout its development to this day is misinformation, as it has ruined the trust people used to have. It has become quite difficult to find a reliable source of information that does not contain any bias. The most popular news channels, such as CNS and NYT, have repeatedly distorted the truth and were found out, causing a massive wave of disapproval by the viewers. The result is that people started calling each other brainwashed and even bonds of many families were severed because of this. In the future this could cause even a bigger issue with no clear solution. Another side effect that has worsened the lives of thousands if not millions of people is the bodily insecurities that people have exacerbated by the perfect facade people often find on social media posts. Seeing how ideal the lives of other people are, it is hard not to get a bit depressed looking at one’s own life.

On the other hand, upon closer inspection, the rapid improvement and spread of social media has also enhanced the lives of many. Previously unknown facts have become common, which has definitely benefited the medical and many more crucial sectors. Competent doctors and experts in other fields can now share with their professional opinion and disprove the wrong beliefs. This is particularly evident when inspecting content where such experts go against the flow and do not recommend popular brands like head and shoulders. Had it not been for social media, many would still have an illusion that shampoo under that brand is completely healthy, but fortunately experts have proven that it causes many undesired effects like dry skin. In other words, while it is undoubtedly true that social media inflates misinformation, there are growing numbers of reliable sources appearing, gradually alleviating the pressure. In addition, the same posts that make some fall into despair give hope to others. Seeing how ordinary people grow and become the best versions of themselves inspires other people to do the same.

To conclude, in my humble opinion, it is both true that social media has made many people in our society suffer, due to the misinformation and amplification of bodily insecurities innate to humans. Be that as it may, as the time passes, the benefits of social media start to appear clearer and clearer, as more and more specialists come onto social media platforms and share important information. Similarly, the stories of success posted on those platforms motivate people to never give up and move forward. Thus, social media is both harmful and beneficial, depending on the point of view.