Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that society could not be formed if individuals could do everything they want. I completely agree with this opinion.

Firstly, rules and laws provide a framework for acceptable behaviors. They define the boundaries between delinquent activities and morality. Moreover, set of rules is used to protect and people’s lives and properties which were constantly at risk if there would be no regulations. For example, without traffic laws, the number of dead people would be elephantine. Therefore, to avoid the scenario, statutes are passed in order to force people to follow these compulsory rules.

Secondly, without the fear of being punishment, criminals could damage the rights and freedom of individuals. Therefore, to protect these things, we need to have laws to control and stop illegal actions so that people are treated fairly and there are no discrimination and exploitation. In addition, rules also help governments to manage a severe situation to find a suitable solution such as the outbreak of a disease. For example, in the case of Covid-19, authorities introduce the laws to ease travelling to prevent the spread of virus. If these rules did not come into force, the endeavor of struggling against Covid-19 and bringing down the death rate would be more difficult. Last but not least, these statues can be conflict resolution to provide a systematic way to resolve conflict. Thus, legal systems help maintain peace and offer non-violent means to settle disagreement .

In conclusion, the lack of laws can lead to a number of catastrophic consequences including the collapse of society and the plummet in the economy. It seems to me that a well-organized society is based on the regulations and laws which is applied by the authorities to preserve residents’ rights and social order as well as peace.