Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often believed that society could not function if the world became lawless. In my point of view, rules and order is extremely integral to the survival of individual rights and development of civilization.

In terms of the reasons why societal order is crucial, it can already be seen how the legislation provides a clear framework for acceptable behaviours through the act of defining legal boundaries as well as the concept and extent of personal rights. Without an authority, chaos would ensue globally, leading to the constant endangerment of human wellbeing and properties. A pertinent example is the difficulties of life in underdeveloped nations, particularly South Sudan, where innocent citizens in criminal-controlled areas are killed and violated both in terms of rights and autonomy without any protection from a governmental body.

This leads to an additional aspect as to why regulation and the enforcement of laws is extremely necessary, which is a legal system designed for individuals to resolve conflicts, whether personal or societal, via non-violent and systematic means. To be more specific, the existence and legitimacy of a jurisdiction authority allows one to demand compensational funds from a property damage by an offender. As a result, neither would have to resort to vigilantes or bodily-harming acts if they wanted justice and fairness.

In conclusion, there is no doubt legal authorities and constitutions provide a stable foundation for acceptable behaviours, deter dangerous activities as well as forcing parties to remain civil when it comes to the resolution of conflicts. Therefore, I firmly believe order and legislation should be maintained if we are to protect individual rights and safety.