Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Rules and laws hold a significant role in society. Without them, society would not function properly and deteriorate into chaos. I partly agree with this idea and believe that laws must exist.

Many problems happen if people can do anything based on their personal preferences. A certain number of people may try to take advantage of such a situation and some upheaval may result as a consequence such as violence or terrorist movements. Without the control of the government, criminals can not be punished and continue doing the bad thing. It would increase the number of offenses and affect the safety of the citizens. The country’s development will have a setback.

On the other hand, society must be guaranteed by regulations. They protect the rights, safety, and freedom of individuals. For instance, in many places, it is illegal to own a gun. However, when a criminal breaks into their home and attempts to murder them with a dangerous weapon, they are unable to defend themselves effectively so restrictions are needed. Additionally, conflicts are resolved in a fair and appropriate manner. A peaceful nation would be one thing that helps economic growth. It also provides a foundation for diplomatic and international relations because it helps regulate interactions between countries, and contributes to global stability and nation’s sovereignty.

In conclusion, rules and laws play an indispensable role in the society. I believe that all countries must have them to ensure the well-being of people, accountability, guide behavior, and resolve disputes. They also have great value globally.