Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

Many individuals may argue that a particular society will be unable to thrive if there are no guiding principles that govern that area. In my opinion, I absolutely agree with this and I think that various societies need to have certain laws set up in order to survive.

On the one hand, a country that has no stringent rules may be regarded as a very fascinating area, because there would be a lot of freedom, independence, and most of the inhabitants will be able to do whatever they want, and however or whenever they want. Because of this, the members of the society will not be mandated to obey unnecessary rules or forced to perform specific customs or traditions that are outdated. For example, in some parts of the world, grieving partners are mandated to wear a particular color of clothing, and perform certain rites after the death of a spouse. In a society where such rules are optional or they do not even apply at all, the individuals would be encouraged to grieve their loved ones the best way they please.

On the other hand, a country with no designed rules and regulations will be seen as a lawless society. it is the laws that guide people and ensure unity, order, and organization. To illustrate, if there are no rules that define penalties for many criminal offences, this would encourage a lot of people to commit various atrocities leading to an ultimate upsurge in crime rate, deaths, and other immoral activities.

Again, the need for traffic regulations and officials on the roads cannot be overemphasized. Due to many road laws, including punishment guidelines for traffic offenders, several ghastly accidents can be avoided and people generally will refrain from disobeying these laws to avoid being punished.

In conclusion, I entirely agree that a society needs laws and rules in order to function and prosper.