Some believe punishments can help to distinct between right or wrong at an early age. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this ?

To become a morally strong person one should know to draw the line between right and wrong and the acquisition of knowledge to develop strong moral characteristics start from an early age. Punishments can be an useful way to teach children the distinction between good and bad . However, any type of punishment that leaves mental trauma or physical damage should be prohibited.

At an early age a child’s brain isn’t fully developed. Thus, they don’t usually grasp the idea of right or wrong completely. As a result, they children do wrongful things. Such as , not respecting elders , calling people by bad names and etc. These are not heinous crimes , rather children might do them unknowingly. In these cases,they can be assigned to punishments like eating more of vegetables they dont like , doing physical exercise or even not allowing any favorite sweet treats. This will make children remember and understand their faults also , not to repeating them in the near future. School going kids can be assigned to punishments as such as detention, extra social work, classroom cleaning in case of not submitting homeworks, fighting in classrooms or using slang languages. Punishments as such brings a sense of discipline amongst kids. But any types of punishment that can cause physical problems should not be tolerated. This can be a reason of disabilities, even mental health problems like anxiety, trauma and depression.

On the other hand , tougher punishment can be assigned if students can be found of doing racist acts, body shaming, stealing etc. In these cases suspension or other punishments can be assigned. If else , the number of these pity acts will rise and kids will grow devoid of humanity and moral characteristics. This can cause a social unrest which nobody wants.

In conclusion, I can say that, punishments can help determining the boundary between right or wrong but this shouldn’t be at the expense of a child’s physical and mental health. Moreover, parents should be timely informed if students are punished for anything. Teachers and parents also should asses the whole situation carefully before punishing. If everything is done carefully it can be helpful to teach the distinction between right and wrong