Some believe that children who fail in school will have limited futures. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold the belief that children who have poor academic performances will have limited futures. I agree with this view; people who fail academically will be less able to seek out opportunities and succeed than those who excel in school.

School is the place that nurtures children’s development and helps them discover their abilities and passions. Schools’ educational framework encompasses a variety of subjects, including STEM-related subjects, humanities, and creative subjects such as art or music. The wide curriculum of schools gives students many opportunities to discover their passions and likings, and in turn, inspires them to perform their best and offers them a helping hand to realise their dreams. Many people, for instance, Chu Van An high school graduates who performed excellently in their school years achieve great success later in life; many of them hold important positions in corporations or even become a source of inspiration for younger generations. Academic success thus plays an important role in ensuring the success of pupils, opening the door of opportunity for many people.

Moreover, many desired careers nowadays are only accessible through excellent academic credentials. Most jobs require degrees and certificates to evaluate an applicant’s suitability to their courses or positions. These professions include medicine, law and teaching, which are all gatekept behind education certificates. Even if there are careers which do not require credentials, these careers are most likely to be low-paying, risky, and undesirable. Such careers include the work of collecting trash; while this career is indispensable in society, it is still widely regarded as a poorly paid career and one that is not appealing to many people.

In conclusion, it is clear that children whose academic performance is poor will face a higher risk of limiting their future opportunities than high academic achievers. Therefore, formal schooling is important to guide pupils the way to success, enabling students to broaden their opportunities, as well as foster their growth.