Some believe that group projects in college improve teamwork skills, while others think individual work builds independence.

Group projects are said to enable students to gain experience working in teams while others think individual projects provide students with more opportunities to gain independence and develop personal skills. In my opinion, there are certain pros and cons for every of those approaches but a combination of both is probably the best choice.

Firstly, by doing group projects students get accustomed to working with other people. Most of the time we have to interact, cooperate and complete tasks together at work. Group assignments train communication skills, sense of responsibility and ability to resolve conflicts and accept the opinions of others which are important qualities when choosing your future career path.

Secondly, individual work is a great way to train independence because when completing tasks by themselves students become responsible for the planning, research and results of their work. It enables them to acquire self-confidence and improve their skills in solving various problems.

Therefore, colleges should include both methods to help students develop a wide range of skills. This is because while group education fosters teamwork, individual education promotes self-reliance. Consequently, institutions should adopt both approaches for their students.