Some believe that nuclear weapons benefit the world at large. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There exists a point of view that it is beneficial for everyone to have nuclear weaponry. I totally disagree with this position due to the fact that nuclear armament threatens global welfare. In addition, with the existence of such weapons among only several nations the degree of international aggression increases.

First of all, it is not a secret that nuclear weaponry has an enormous power and can destroy a significant part of the territory, making it uninhabitable for humans. The consequences of the explosion will affect a much larger area, leading to a large number of victims not only in the target country, but also in neighboring states. Besides, because of the raised radiation level, a number of people may be at risk of contracting various diseases, such as cancer. All of these factors can directly affect the well-being of all, therefore, the presence of nuclear weapons in itself poses a threat to global peace.

Secondly, global inequality, even in the possession of nuclear armament, leads to a constant race in nuclear arms and a deliberately weaker position of countries which do not have such weapons in their arsenal. This forces more vulnerable countries to form alliances in order to counter a nuclear power. At the same time, states that possess atomic weapons are likely to accumulate their power and nuclear arsenal to remain the strongest ones. As a result, all parts of the world must continuously compete in the presence and quantity of nuclear weapons, thus, aggression between the blocs of countries can grow.

To conclude, despite the fact that there are people who suppose that atomic weaponry has more advantages than disadvantages, I do not share this opinion. Such a kind of weapon can lead to devastating consequences in the case of its use, equally negatively affecting the order and peace.